Nicole Maggi

for readers
for writers
about me

The Blue Woods
The Night Battles Ascend...the exhilarating conclusion to the Twin Willows Trilogy!

Book Three of the Twin WillowsTrilogy

Available January 2016 from
Medallion Press

Sixteen-year-old Alessia Jacobs wants to go to college someday like her friends. She wishes for a chance at a normal relationship with Jonah. But normal is never an option for a Benandante like Alessia, who has sworn to protect the magic in the world from the Malandanti...especially when Jonah is on the opposite side of the deadly struggle. When the war comes to a head, lives will be lost, love will be gained, and Alessia will risk everything to save the people she loves and destroy the Malandanti once and for all.

Barnes & Noble

In the Mouth of the Wolf
The Night Battles rage on...

Book Two of the Twin WillowsTrilogy

Available Now from
Medallion Press

The Twin Willows Waterfall is now under the control of the Benandanti, but for Alessia, the victory comes at a steep price. And the arrival of Nerina, one of the seven Concilio elders from the Friuli Clan, only complicates her life. Now she's hiding a 450-year-old immortal on her farm, juggling school and her increasingly frustrated friends, and trying to keep the Malandanti from regaining the Waterfall. But it's the passion that still lingers between her and Jonah that really keeps Alessia awake at night.

After a fatal visit from the Malandanti's mage, Alessia brings in Jonah's twin sister, Bree, to serve as a Benandanti spy. Bree has her own reasons for wanting to bring down the Malandanti, and soon she and Alessia find themselves in a tenuous alliance. But not even the powerful magic that Bree possesses nor the strong leadership that Nerina provides can stop the vicious Malandanti. As the two Clans barrel towards their inevitable collision, Alessia and Jonah are swept into the devastation and forced to make the ultimate choice.


The Forgetting
Georgie's new heart saved her life...but now she's losing her mind...

Coming February 3, 2015 from
SourceBooks Fire

All Georgie wants after she wakes up from her heart transplant is to go back to her old life, filled with good friends, a close-knit family, and her dream of getting into Juilliard to study the oboe. But almost immediately she starts to hear The Catch; a breath, a hiccup, in between her heartbeats. Worse, she's forgetting things, things she would never in a million years forget, like the fact that she has a deadly strawberry allergy. In its place is the memory of her fifth birthday party...complete with a strawberry shortcake.

Georgie knows that memory isn't hers, just like the memory of a room that she's never been in or a lonely street corner that she's never visited. Convinced that the memories are of her donor, she's determined to figure out what happened to the girl whose heart now beats in her chest. The path to answers leads her straight to the boy that her donor loved, and into an underbelly of society that she never imagined existed. As Georgie searches for the truth, her own memories continue to disappear and she must solve the mystery of her donor’s death before she loses herself completely.

Barnes & Noble


"[T]his story is a powerful call to action. Yet even with its obvious motivation, it is never preachy. Strong characters, a well-developed mystery and a budding romance all come together to make this a story worth reading. Admirably and appropriately, Maggi refuses to shy away from what Georgie uncovers, including drug use and graphic scenes of sexual violence against children."
Kirkus Review

"Maggi’s (Winter Falls)...passion comes through in the honest portrayal of a privileged girl facing horrors and abuse that exist under her very nose. Readers will watch in suspense as Georgie decides how much she’s willing to sacrifice to see justice done."
Publishers Weekly

"[T]eens...will be drawn into its suspenseful, exciting story that sheds light on an important social justice issue not often addressed in YA fiction. This book is a solid purchase for its innovative subject matter."
School Library Journal

"Setting the story in Boston, Maggi works the landscape to good effect, from the wealthy neighborhood where the Kendricks live, to the economically depressed and dangerous Mattapan area. This debut novel is swift-paced and goes down easy, pulling both romance and mystery readers along for an enjoyable ride.”

Winter Falls
The Night Battles have begun.
Book One of the Twin WillowsTrilogy

Available Now
from Medallion Press

Sixteen-year-old Alessia Jacobs is dying to get out of her small town of Twin Willows, Maine. Things start looking up when a new family comes to town—but when she falls for Jonah, their hot, mysterious son, her life turns upside down.

Weird visions of transforming into an otherworldly falcon are just the beginning. Soon she learns she's part of the Benandanti, an ancient cult of warriors with the unique power to separate their souls from their bodies and take on the forms of magnificent animals.

Alessia never would've suspected it, but her boring town is the site of an epic struggle between the Benandanti and the Malandanti to control powerful magic in the surrounding forest.

As Alessia is drawn into the Benandanti's mission, her relationship with Jonah intensifies. When her two worlds collide, Alessia’s forced to weigh choices a sixteen-year-old should never have to make.

Click here to read more about the Benandanti.




"Maggi’s pacing is quick, and her imaginative prose (with its ear for dialogue) supports a cast of characters...All elements combine to create a nicely textured real world where a surreal battle’s set to take place.

Readers will eagerly await the next installment in this promising paranormal adventure."
—Kirkus Review

"Drawing on Italian lore, debut novelist Maggi weaves an intriguing...urban fantasy in which rival clans war for control of magical hot spots, including a waterfall near the tiny Maine town of Twin Willows."
—Publishers Weekly

"Reminiscent of Twilight and Harry Potter, Winter Falls is the first installment of the Twin Willows Trilogy. Full of mystery and adventure, the novel explores environmental issues, relationships, magic, and the battle between good and evil. Alessia's character is fully realized as she struggles with her grief over the death of her father and navigates the ups and downs of friendships, high school, home life, and her newfound role as member of the Benandanti. The action will keep the reader engaged until the very end, when the second book in the trilogy is sure to be eagerly anticipated."

Home | Books | For Readers | For Writers | Blog | Links | About | Contact | Acting

Copyright © 2010 - Nicole Maggi
Website designed and maintained by Jaleroro Web Designs
hosted by Holland Web Works